History of Nageshwar Nath Temple – Ayodhya

The Nageshwarnath Temple is one of Ayodhya’s most significant and revered temples, dedicated to Lord Shiva. Situated along the banks of the Saryu River, it plays a pivotal role in representing Ayodhya’s rich cultural and religious heritage. ayodhya tour package The temple is a symbol of religious harmony and coexistence, with its history rooted in both mythology and historical events. It’s a central place of worship and spirituality in Ayodhya, attracting pilgrims and tourists alike, especially during the Shivratri festival.

Historical Background

According to the story, Kusha, the younger son of Lord Rama, lost his amulet while bathing in the Saryu River. After failing to find it, Kusha became disheartened. However, a Nag Kanya (serpent maiden), who had found the amulet and was a devout follower of Lord Shiva, returned it to Kusha. Grateful for her devotion, Kusha built the Nageshwarnath Temple in honor of the Nag Kanya’s faith in Shiva.

Over the centuries, the temple has endured various historical challenges, maintaining its prominence even during turbulent times. The current structure dates back to 1750, built by Naval Rai, a minister of Safdar Jung.

Architectural Features

  1. Mahadwar (Foot): The main entrance through which worshippers enter the temple.
  2. Sabha Mandapa (Abdomen and Chest): This is the main prayer hall, with seats designed to resemble the human abdomen and chest.
  3. Antarala: This section houses the chariot of Lord Shiva, Nandi.
  4. Garbhagriha (Head): The innermost sanctum, where the primary Shiva Linga is located.

Visiting Information

The Nageshwarnath Temple is open every day, with darshan (visiting) times from 5 a.m. to 8 p.m. There is no entry fee, making it ayodhya tourism accessible to all. The Bhog (offering) time is from 12 to 2 p.m. The temple sees the most visitors during Shivratri, when grand celebrations take place.

How to Reach Nageshwarnath Temple

By Air: The nearest airport is Lucknow International Airport, 152 km from Ayodhya. Other nearby airports include Gorakhpur Airport (158 km), Prayagraj Airport (172 km), and Varanasi Airport (224 km).

By Train: Ayodhya and Faizabad are the major railway stations in the district. Faizabad is 128 km from Lucknow, while Ayodhya is 135 km away. Distances to other major cities like Gorakhpur, Prayagraj, and Varanasi vary from 164 km to 196 km.

By Road: The Uttar Pradesh Transport Corporation operates buses 24/7, making it easy to reach Ayodhya by road. Distances from major cities range from 138 km to 244 km, depending on your starting point.


The Nageshwarnath Temple is a remarkable landmark that represents the religious and cultural richness of Ayodhya. Its history, architecture, and significance as a place of worship make it a must-visit destination for anyone traveling to the city. If you’re in Ayodhya, be sure to visit this temple, especially during the Shivratri festival, to experience the vibrant spiritual atmosphere and traditional ceremonies.

Throughout history, the Nageshwarnath Temple has withstood the tests of time, remaining a beacon of faith even during challenging periods, including the reign of Chandragupta Vikramaditya. It is said that Vikramaditya, impressed by the temple’s significance, renovated it during his rule. The temple’s enduring presence has played a vital role in maintaining Ayodhya’s cultural identity.

In modern times, the Nageshwarnath Temple continues to draw devotees from across the country, especially during festivals like Shivaratri, when elaborate ceremonies are held to honor Lord Shiva. Its architectural design, inspired by Vaastu Shastra and Western architectural principles, reflects a blend of tradition and innovation.

For visitors, reaching the Nageshwarnath Temple is relatively convenient. Ayodhya and Faizabad serve as major railway stations, providing easy access to travelers from various cities. Additionally, Uttar Pradesh Transport Corporation buses operate round the clock, ensuring accessibility by road.

The temple’s architecture is notable, with its five main sections symbolizing different aspects of the human body. From the Mahadwar (foot) to the garbhagriha housing the primary Shiva Linga, each part reflects meticulous design and spiritual significance.